Outstanding Research Supervisors honoured with NSF Awards

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

The annual awards ceremony of the National Science Foundation, “NSF Awards 2023”, is a flagship event in the NSF calendar organized to recognize outstanding achievements under several awards schemes. Hon. Minister of Education, Dr Susil Premajayantha graced the awards ceremony as the Chief Guest, which was held at the Auditorium of the Ministry of Education on 4th April 2024.

Dr Sepalika Sudasinghe, Director General, NSF, delivered the welcome address and she underscored the commitment of the NSF with its new initiative- ‘Lab to Market Model’ aimed at transcending scientific discoveries leading to tangible outputs for the benefit of the society. Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Chairman of NSF, in his speech highlighted the importance of recognizing outstanding research supervisors in terms of building the critical mass of well qualified research cadre, in the establishment of a strong RDI ecosystem in the country. The keynote speaker at the event, Dr Harsha Subasinghe, President and CEO of CodeGen group of companies, emphasized the pivotal role of research and innovation in propelling our country towards socio-economic development. He shared insights into how his research-driven innovations led to successful commercialization, echoing the model adopted by NSF.

This year, the awards were presented for the Support Scheme for Supervision of Research Degrees (SUSRED). The NSF implemented the SUSRED awards in 2011, to motivate, support and recognize scientists/engineers engaged in supervising postgraduate students conducting research in all areas of Science and Technology including Social Sciences. 42 SUSRED awards were conferred on 98 researchers comprising of university academics from 17 different universities and research institutes across the country. Around 150 participants including, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Education, Institutional Heads (Institutes under the Ministry in the S&T sector), ministry officials, Vice Chancellors/ Deans of universities, scientists, engineers, and media personnel were present at this event.

For more pictures, please vist our Facebook Album https://www.facebook.com/media/set?vanity=nsflk&set=a.932808085517744

NSF Awards Introduction Video