How it all started

The historical journey of the National Science Council began with the appointment of Prof. Sir Nicholas Attygalle as the First Chairman and Mr B J P Alles as Acting Secretary General on part time basis. In September 1969, Dr C R Panabokke took over office as the First fulltime Chief Executive Officer of the Council. With the passage of time and accompanied by changes of stewardship, the National Science Council has evolved to what it is today, the National Science Foundation of Sri Lanka, through many models and styles of management. Notwithstanding these changes, however, the organization has been in the forefront in promoting scientific research in the country. Each one of the leaders have worked untiringly to drive the organization to a successful and globally recognized scientific organization.

c r panabokke
First fulltime Chief Executive Officer
Dr C R Panabokke

Archived photo - An event organized by the National Science Foundation during 1970s. Click on photo to full view.

The Journey of Half a Century

National Science Council (NSC) : 1968 to 1981
Natural Resources Energy & Science Authority of Sri Lanka (NARESA) : 1981 to 1998
National Science Foundation (NSF) : 1998 to date

Key Milestones

The NSF celebrated 50 years of dedicated service to the country on 04th October 2018. Read more

Anniversary Logo